Search by artist, title or related text (try!)

Sunday, 15 January 2012

Marvin Gaye Live At The London Palladium (1977)

This is from the later dates added to the original tour of Sepember 1976.  I was lucky enough to attend the first gig at the Royal Albert Hall and so this has a special importance for me (see Review). This represents the last tour Marvin made in the UK.  It was just before his exile to Belgium and subsequent return to the top of the charts with "Sexual Healing" and his eventual return home to the USA - their were a couple of tours stateside after this.

The album runs the career of Marvin through his original solo hit; his duets period and the later, more mature "What's Going On" through "I Want You " albums.  The live set fills three of the four sides here with the the final side gien over to a full length version of the later hit "Got To Give It Up".

the full tracklisting is:-
1. Intro
2. All The Way 'round
3. Since I Had You
4. Come Get To This
5. Let's Get It On
6. Trouble Man
7. Medley #1
Ain't That Peculiar/Wonderful One/
Stubborn Kind Of Fellow/Pride and Joy/
Little Darling/Grapevine/Hitchhike/
You/Too Busy Thinking 'Bout May Baby/
How Sweet It Is (To Be Loved By You)
8. Medley #2
Inner City Blues/God Is Love/What's Going On/Save The Children
9. Medley #3 (with Florence Lyles)
You're All I Need To Get By/Ain't Nothing Like The Real Thing/
Your Precious Love/It Takes Two/Ain't No Mountain High Enough
10. Distant Lover
11. Closing Theme
12. Got To Give It Up (studio 11'.54")

It is a good live album, a good record of a long and varied career and with a whopping bonus of the studio track - a worthwhile find.

This was released as a double album in 1977 and
then as a single CD in 1986 (orginal number ZD 72213) - the art was scanned of the Cd

No comments:

Post a Comment